The two most common options for high school completion are the GED certificate and the HSED. The GED is accepted by most employers, technical colleges and community colleges. Some employers, universities and branches of the military, however require an HSED or High School diploma. You can decide which option is best for you.

You must attend an Orientation before you can begin testing. GED/HSED Orientation and Testing Schedules (Regionals Schedules)

General Education Development (GED) 5.04

The 2014 GED is a certificate awarded by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction for successfully completing tests in four high school academic areas:

GED Content exams and requirementsGED content exams

The new 2014 exams are based on a 200 point scale where 150 points is a passing score in each academic area.

High School Equivalency Diploma (HSED) 5.05

Individuals who wish to obtain an HSED must pass all the GED requirements and meet requirements in health, civic literacy and employability skills.

HSED Content exams and requirements
HSED content Exams

Instruction is encouraged, but not required, for individuals preparing to take the GED and HSED tests. Instruction and practice tests are provided in all four content areas that make up the GED exam. Classes are offered tuition-free to Wisconsin residents but may require the purchase of a text book or other materials.

The 7 GED Computer Based Question Formats:

  1. Multiple Choice- click to choose from 4 choices
  2. Fill-in-the-Blank – type a word, phrase, or number in a box
  3. Drag and Drop – move words, numbers, or objects across computer screen
  4. Drop Down – select answer from menu embedded in text on computer screen
  5. Hot Spot – click on ‘sensors’ embedded in graphics on computer
  6. Short Answer – respond by writing a paragraph or two explaining passages, graphics or both
  7. Extended Response – Compose a well-developed and supported response to passage, graphics or both