Beginning August 5, 2013, the Blackboard team has implemented a new Section Merge Tool. The current merge request process will not change. The Instructor will continue to submit a Help Desk request, outlining the course(s) to be merged into a single course roster. The only change to the process is the ability to "unmerge" once the merge has been processed. We will no longer be able to unmerge course(s) because it will negatively impact the student. It is very important that faculty carefully request the courses to be merged.The Blackboard team will email instructors with a request to verify the merge request. Once the instructor has confirmed the merge request, the Blackboard team will perform the merge.
Below is an example of the email that will be sent to instructors before the merge request will be performed by the Blackboard team.
This email is in response to your request for a roster merge for one or more of your (term) Blackboard classes. We are working on a process enhancement for roster merges that will align our process with current Blackboard supported methodologies. We have targeted the week of (date of the term to start the merge process) to begin merging class rosters. We will notify you by email when the merge process has been completed, but note,
It is very important to note as part of our new process-
Once class shell rosters have been merged, they cannot be unmerged.
THIS MERGE REQUEST WILL NOT BE PROCESSED WITHOUT YOUR CONFIRMATION.