Biology

Biology is the science of life. Biology courses at Madison College can be a springboard to an advanced degree from a university, preparation for direct entry into the biology job market or a quest of personal interest. In the classroom and laboratory, you will explore key biological principles and hands-on techniques that can lead to exciting opportunities in health care, food and agriculture, animal science or the environment. Biology is a vast, dynamic, and stimulating area of study, offering unlimited future growth.

 

Through the courses listed below, our dedicated faculty will provide you with the educational tools necessary to help you target your perfect niche in the field of biology. 

 

Courses

Biology Courses


Check out the full Course Catalog or follow the individual links below.

Qualified students who enroll in the Madison College Honors Program have the opportunity to work one-on-one with a faculty member to research and develop an Honors Project in a particular discipline. By completing an Honors Project, you will receive general elective credits that may count toward your degree or certificate.

Faculty

Full-Time Faculty


Simon Allard
Office: C3446, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6056 
Email: SAllard@madisoncollege.edu

Chuck Benton
Office: B2200, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6843 
Email: CEBentonjr@madisoncollege.edu

Kitrina Carlson  (Department Co-chair)
Office: B3221, Truax
Phone: (608) 616-3570
Email: KMCarlson2@madisoncollege.edu

Susan Crowson
Office: D3619, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6058 
Email: MCrowson@madisoncollege.edu

Sharon Holthaus
Office: B3237, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6173
Email: SHolthaus@madisoncollege.edu

Robert Lovely
Office: C3444, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6720 
Email: RLovely@madisoncollege.edu

Gina Piscitelli
Office: 136, West
Phone: (608) 616-3349 
Email: GPiscitelli@madisoncollege.edu

Janet Romich
Office: C4350, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6391 
Email: JRomich@madisoncollege.edu

Susan Rust
Office: 170, Watertown
Phone: (920) 206-8041 
Email: SRust1@madisoncollege.edu

Lewis Sheffield
Office: 126, Portage
Phone: (608) 745-3128 
Email: Sheffield@madisoncollege.edu

Carl Shuster
Office: E3868, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6605 
Email: CShuster@madisoncollege.edu

Brian Stephens
Office: C3448, Truax
Phone: (608) 524-7856
Email: BStephens@madisoncollege.edu

Elise Van Ginkel (Department Co-chair)
Office: B3223, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6494 
Email: EVanginkel@madisoncollege.edu

Staff


Roxanne Chrisinger
Lab Planner
Office: 127, Portage
Phone: (608) 745-3109
Email: RChrisinger@madisoncollege.edu    

Jeanne Ehlen
Lab Planner
Office: 124, Fort Atkinson
Phone: (920) 568-7337
Email: Ehlan@madisoncollege.edu

Resources

Resources


Biology Learning Lab

The Biology Learning Lab (located on third floor at Truax Campus in room C3438) has microscopes, slides, DVDs, computers, preserved specimens, models, skeletons and more to support your learning. The Learning Lab is open about 50 hours per week. Your instructor will provide you with the specific hours for the Learning Lab.

Student Achievement Center

The Student Achievement Center (located on second floor at Truax campus, inside the Gateway) provides instruction to improve skills in most academic subject areas, including Anatomy and Physiology. Anyone enrolled in a program class at Madison College may receive instructional support, or tutoring. Instruction is provided in individualized, group, and computer-assisted formats. Scheduling is flexible to fit most schedules.