Chemistry

The Madison College chemistry department allows you to engage in scientific inquiry. You will participate in lab exercises and develop a chemical understanding of the world around you.

Courses

Chemistry Courses


Check out the full Course Catalog or follow the individual links below.

Qualified students who enroll in the Madison College Honors Program have the opportunity to work one-on-one with a faculty member to research and develop an Honors Project in a particular discipline. By completing an Honors Project, you will receive general elective credits that may count toward your degree or certificate.

Faculty

Full-Time Faculty


Troy Cayou (Department Chair)
Office: D2649, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6642
Email: TCayou@madisoncollege.edu

Nilhan Gunasekera
Office: C3446, Truax
Phone: (608) 243-4003
Email: NGunasekera@madisoncollege.edu

Jennifer Jackowski (Engineering Transfer Coordinator)
Office: D2649, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6531
Email: JJJackowski@madisoncollege.edu

Alexis Middleton
Office: D2649, Truax
Phone: (608) 616-3436
Email: AMMiddleton@madisoncollege.edu

Amy Payne
Office: D2606, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6608
Email:
ACPayne@madisoncollege.edu

 

Christen Smith
Office: D2649, Truax
Phone: (608) 243-4174
Email: CBSmith@madisoncollege.edu

 

Jeannine Szczech
Office: D2606, Truax
Phone: (608) 616-3517
Email: JSzczech@madisoncollege.edu

 

Ken Walz
Office: C3444, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6521
Email: KWalz@madisoncollege.edu

Scholarship

Chemistry and Engineering Scholarship


The Chemistry and Engineering Majors Scholarship was created by the chemistry faculty at Madison College for a deserving student who plans to complete a bachelor's degree with a major in chemistry or engineering. This scholarship provides $400, which is intended to help defray the cost of buying textbooks or similar expenses.

Eligibility

Any student who meets the following requirements is eligible to apply for the Chemistry and Engineering Majors Scholarship:

  • The student has completed one semester of a 200-level chemistry course at Madison College with a grade of B or higher.
  • The student is enrolled in or has completed a second semester of a 200-level chemistry course at Madison College.
  • The student plans to complete a bachelor's degree with a major in chemistry or engineering.

Application and Selection

The Chemistry and Engineering Majors Scholarship is awarded annually. Find more information about the scholarship by logging in to MyMadisonCollege, clicking on the Foundation Scholarship link, and searching the scholarship database using the keyword “chemistry”.  Contact the Madison College Foundation at foundation@madisoncollege.edu or call (608) 246-6441 for additional assistance.

Resources

Resources


Many resources are available to Madison College chemistry students, both on campus and online.

Madison College Chemistry Resources

Online Chemistry Resources

  • Explore the elements with the fun and interactive Dynamic Periodic Table.
  • Search chemical structures and properties using the database and search engine, ChemSpider.
  • Discover the history of chemistry through the Chemical Heritage Foundation by reading their chemical history articles or listening to chemical history podcasts. Or learn about more contemporary chemistry topics through articles and podcasts from the Royal Chemistry Society's Chemistry World.
  • Watch educational videos on the Periodic Table of Videos.