Contact

School of Arts and Sciences


Truax C2433
1701 Wright Street
Madison WI 53704

CALL: (608) 246-6246
Email

HOURS:
M
onday - Tuesday: 8 a.m. - 6 p.m. 
Wednesday - Friday: 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

 

Music

Music courses at Madison College provide students with an understanding of the history and theory of music as well as opportunities to perform.

 

Madison College offers multiple ways to strengthen and share your talents. Choose from seven different music ensembles to nurture your passion for music. Each ensemble performs on and off campus, focusing on making new connections locally and helping to make Madison and the surrounding area the culturally rich community it is. If you are a student enrolled in any degree-credit course at Madison College, you do not need to register for most of our music ensembles and can participate for free (with the exception of World Drumming Ensemble and Chorale). However, if you would like to earn degree-credit for your participation, you can enroll in any one of the music ensembles as a music department course.

Learn more about Madison College's Performing Arts music ensemble opportunities!

Madison College Big Band

 

Courses

Music Courses


Check out the full Course Catalog or follow the individual links below.

For the music enthusiast, Madison College offers students the opportunity to enroll in a variety of music courses as part of the Liberal Arts Transfer program. Enhance your enjoyment of music by enrolling in Music Appreciation, World Music, and History of Pop and Rock Music, which seek to explain the historical and cultural contexts of various styles of music. Develop your music notation and analytical skills with Music Theory Fundamentals, or learn how to play the piano in Class Piano 1. Enroll in the high-energy World Drumming Ensemble to learn exciting samba rhythms from Brazil and other hand drumming styles. No experience necessary.

Survey and History

Skills and Theory

Ensembles

Qualified students who enroll in the Madison College Honors Program have the opportunity to work one-on-one with a faculty member to research and develop an Honors Project in a particular discipline. By completing an Honors Project, you will receive general elective credits that may count toward your degree or certificate.

Faculty

Faculty/Directors


Joseph Bernstein, Part-time Music Faculty
Email: Bernstein@madisoncollege.edu

Jamie Kember, Part-time Music Faculty
Co-Music Director, Big Band and Jazz Combo Director
Email: JKember@madisoncollege.edu

Alison Hooper, Part-time Music Faculty
Email: amhooper2@madisoncollege.edu

Elizabeth Marshall, Part-time Music Faculty
Email: EAMarshall1@madisoncollege.edu

Dr. Tim Patterson, Full-time Music Instructor
Co-Music Director, Co-chair of C&PA, World Drumming Ensemble Director
Office: A1023B, Truax
Phone: (608) 243-4468
Email: TRPatterson@madisoncollege.edu

Christopher Pierce, Part-time Music Faculty
Email: CWPierce@madisoncollege.edu

Dr. Jessica Schwefel, Part-time Music Faculty
Chorale and Choral Collective Director
Email: jschwefel1@madisoncollege.edu

Scott Teeple, Municipal Band Conductor

sdteeple@wisc.edu

 

Walter, Blake | Community Orchestra Conductor

bwalter@edgewood.edu

 

Staff

Matthew Onstad | Municipal Band and Big Band Librarian

mconstad@madisoncollege.edu

 

Emily Nolte | Community Orchestra and Choral Collective Librarian

etnolte@madisoncollege.edu

Jenna Julian (Performing Arts Admin Specialist)
JLJulian1@madisoncollege.edu