Contact

Philosophy

Laura Osinski
(608) 246-6850
Email



School of Arts and Sciences


Truax C2433
1701 Wright Street
Madison WI 53704

CALL: (608) 246-6246
Email

HOURS:
M
onday - Tuesday: 8 a.m. - 6 p.m. 
Wednesday - Friday: 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

 

Philosophy

Philosophy, the word, is derived from an Ancient Greek word meaning “the love of wisdom” and is the dedication to pursuit of knowledge through logical and rigorous reasoning. Philosophers today examine a wide range of questions from “How do you live a good life?” to “What is beauty?” to “Does God exist?” and much more.

Here at Madison College, the philosophy faculty is committed to bringing excellence in teaching to our classrooms, to share what we have learned and to help our students meet their academic goals.

Courses

Philosophy Courses


Check out the full Course Catalog or follow the individual links below.

Qualified students who enroll in the Madison College Honors Program have the opportunity to work one-on-one with a faculty member to research and develop an Honors Project in a particular discipline. By completing an Honors Project, you will receive general elective credits that may count toward your degree or certificate.

Faculty

Full-Time Faculty


Laura Osinski (Department Chair)
Office: D2604, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6850
Email: LOsinski@madisoncollege.edu

Sonja Sullivan
Office: B2250, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6126 
Email:
SRSullivan1@madisoncollege.edu

Joseph Lee
Office: E3856, Truax
Phone: (608) 616-3529
Email:
JSLee@madisoncollege.edu

Part-Time Faculty


Aric Doak
Email: ADoak@madisoncollege.edu

Stewart Eskew
Email: SEskew@madisoncollege.edu

Philip Gasper
Email: PGasper@madisoncollege.edu

Joseph Lynch
Email: JGLynch@madisoncollege.edu

Andrew Ruble
Email: ARuble@madisoncollege.edu

Elaine Swartzentruber
Email: ESwartzentruber@madisoncollege.edu

 

Peter Trumbull
Email: PTrumbull@madisoncollege.edu