Physical Sciences

The Department of Physical Sciences is Madison College's home for the study of physics, astronomy and earth science. As part of the School of Arts and Sciences, we serve associate degree program students and those intending to transfer to the University of Wisconsin or other four-year institutions. Our learners engage in scientific inquiry through theoretical and practical studies and will develop a deeper understanding of the physical world.

Courses

Physical Sciences Courses


Check out the full Course Catalog or follow the individual links below.

Physics

The most fundamental of all the sciences, physics is the precise description of the behavior of all matter and energy. Learners explore (among many other concepts) Newton's Laws of Motion, the nature of electromagnetic fields, the behavior of light and the fundamental structure of matter. 

Earth Sciences

The study of our planet from all scientific perspectives is known as earth science. Madison College offers courses in geology, weather and climate, climate change, oceanography and general earth science.

Astronomy

One of the oldest sciences, astronomy studies everything outside the Earth's atmosphere: solar system, stars, galaxies, and the universe itself. 

For more information on our courses, please contact the course coordinator (see faculty list).

Qualified students who enroll in the Madison College Honors Program have the opportunity to work one-on-one with a faculty member to research and develop an Honors Project in a particular discipline. By completing an Honors Project, you will receive general elective credits that may count toward your degree or certificate.

Faculty

Full-Time Faculty


Dixie Burns
Astronomy
Office: C3444 Truax
Phone: 246-6253
Email: dburns@madisoncollege.edu
Coordinator for: Solar System, Stars & Galaxies, Earth Science

Ryan Doering
Physics
Office: C3448 Truax
Phone: 616-3551
Email: Rdoering@madisoncollege.edu
Coordinator for: Modern Physics, Algebra-based Physics 1 & 2, Survey of Physics, General Physics, Physics of Everyday Life

Matthew Lazzara (Department Chair)
Earth Sciences
Office: B3223 Truax
Phone: 616-3382
Email: mlazzara@madisoncollege.edu
Coordinator for: Weather and Climate, Climate and Climate Change, Natural Hazards

Jennifer Lewis
Earth Sciences
Office: C3448 Truax
Phone: 246-6277
Email: jlnielsen@madisoncollege.edu
Coordinator for: General Geology, Earth Science, Survey of Oceanography

Archie Paulson
Physics
Office: B3221 Truax
Phone: 246-6611
Email: ampaulson@madisoncollege.edu
Coordinator for: Calculus-based Physics 1 & 2, Statics, Dynamics, College Physics 1, Science 1

Elizabeth Reinke
Physics
Office: B3221 Truax
Phone: 243-4030
Email: EReinke@madisoncollege.edu

Staff


Amy Limberg-Dzekute
Lab Coordinator
Office: B3200FA Truax
Phone: 246-6237
Email: alimberg@madisoncollege.edu

Part-Time Faculty


Alan Capelle
Email: adcapelle@madisoncollege.edu

Jason Huberty
Email: jhuberty@madisoncollege.edu

Katie Kern
Email: kmkern@madisoncollege.edu

Kylee Martens
Email: kmmartens@madisoncollege.edu

Scott Lindstrom
Email: slindstrom@madisoncollege.edu

Dayi Ortiz
Email: dortiz@madisoncollege.edu

Rafael Perez
Email: rjperez@madisoncollege.edu

Steve Ralser
Email: sralser@madisoncollege.edu

Lee Welhouse
Email: ljwelhouse@madisoncollege.edu

Ben Senson
Email: bjsenson@madisoncollege.edu

Akire Trestrail
Email: astrestrail@madisoncollege.edu