Contact

Sociology

Dee Soles
(608) 246-6750
Email



School of Arts and Sciences


Truax C2433
1701 Wright Street
Madison WI 53704

CALL: (608) 246-6246
Email

HOURS:
M
onday - Tuesday: 8 a.m. - 6 p.m. 
Wednesday - Friday: 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

 

Sociology

Sociology is the study of groups and society and how they affect human thoughts and behaviors. Through scientific study, we pull back the curtain on the interactions and institutions that shape who we are.

Explore the ever-changing social world and your place in it through classes ranging from race to religion, gender to social problems, technology to criminology and more. Course topics may delight you, make you angry, give you something to tweet about or talk about at the dinner table. Most of all, they will make you think about the world and help you to see it in new ways.

Courses

Sociology Courses


Check out the full Course Catalog or follow the individual links below.

Interdisciplinary Social Sciences

Program Support

Qualified students who enroll in the Madison College Honors Program have the opportunity to work one-on-one with a faculty member to research and develop an Honors Project in a particular discipline. By completing an Honors Project, you will receive general elective credits that may count toward your degree or certificate.

Faculty

Full-Time Faculty


Autumn Behringer
Office: B2254, Truax
Phone: (608) 616-3526
Email:
AMBehringer@madisoncollege.edu

 

Michael Billeaux

Office: B2240, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6588

Email: mdbilleaux@madisoncollege.edu
 

Angelika Gulbis
Office: B2250, Truax
Phone: (608) 243-4139 
Email: AGulbis@madisoncollege.edu

Jackie Jebens
Office: D3618, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6544

Email: JJebens@madisoncollege.edu
 

Martina Kunovic

TBD

 

Matthew Sargent
Office: B2246, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6526
Email:
MRSargent@madisoncollege.edu

Diane Soles (Department Chair)        
Office: B2254, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6750
Email:
DSoles@madisoncollege.edu
 

Part-Time Faculty


Gloria Agas
Email:
GAgas@madisoncollege.edu

Nadia Assad
Email:
NAssad@madisoncollege.edu

Gabrielle Banick

Email:  GBanick@madisoncollege.edu

 

Martine Delannay        
Email:
MDelannay@madisoncollege.edu

Charles Ditzler             
Email:
CDitzler@madisoncollege.edu

Amy Grams                
Email:
AGrams@madisoncollege.edu

Marline Pearson
Email:
MPearson@madisoncollege.edu

Katherine A Phelps

Email: kaphelps@madisoncollege.edu

 

Helen H Raatz

Email: HRaatz@madisoncollege.edu

 

Victor Raymond          
Email:
VJRaymond@madisoncollege.edu

Mitchell K Ruesink 
Email:
MRuesink@madisoncollege.edu

Erica M Siegl
Email:
ESiegl@madisoncollege.edu

Ahmad M Sultan
Email:
ASultan@madisoncollege.edu

Andrea L Sumpter       
Email:
ASumpter@madisoncollege.edu

Cassandra O Thompson 
Email:
COThompson@madisoncollege.edu

Mary Vogel                 
Email:
MVogel@madisoncollege.edu

Mimi Wuest                 
Email:
MWuest@madisoncollege.edu

Certificates

Certificates

Ethnic Studies Certificate

Program number: 908091CERT 

Coordinator: Jackie Jebens, Sociology Department

https://madisoncollege.edu/program/ethnic-studies

 

Ethnic Studies courses explore the position of ethnic and racial minorities in the history, culture and society of the United States. These courses will help you develop philosophical insights and theoretical tools that encourage you to explore U.S. society and culture. 

Ethnic Studies courses will challenge you to think critically about the roles that race and ethnicity have played in the development of American history, culture and society. You will analyze aesthetic values, investigate historical processes and study how race and ethnicity are connected to issues that at first may seem unrelated.

 

Gender and Women’s Studies Certificate

Program number: 908093CERT

Coordinators: Autumn Behringer and Angelika Gulbis, Sociology Department

https://madisoncollege.edu/program/gender-women-studies

 

Gender and Women's Studies is an interdisciplinary certificate in which you will explore gender and gender relations through art, literature, history, psychology and sociology. Examine themes related to gender in cultural, historical, social, national and global contexts as you broaden your appreciation and knowledge of gender identities and equality. 

Topics include new themes in gender research and women's studies, visual representations of the sexes, language use by the sexes, power dynamics, gender identities, women's movement politics and generational changes. By understanding diverse life experiences, you will not only gain perspective relevant to your own life. but also develop communication skills employers want in today's workforce.

 

Social Sciences Data Analytics Certificate

Program number: 908092CERT 

Coordinator: Angelika Gulbis, Sociology Department

https://madisoncollege.edu/program/social-sciences-data-analytics

 

The Social Sciences Data Analytics Certificate (SSDAC) will teach you research skills for use in industry, education and beyond. Gain skills in theory, data collection, data management, data analysis, data visualization and data presentation. We will prepare you to work in academic research environments and for private or public employers. You will graduate with traits employers want, including good communication skills, ethics, logic and critical decision making.

Other Info

Madison College Opportunities and Resources

Sociological Associations

Sociological Websites

Careers

Blogs

Transfer and Advising

Sociology Faculty Advisors

Dr. Autumn Behringer
Email: AMBehringer@madisoncollege.edu 

Dr. Angelika Gulbis
mail: AGulbis@madisoncollege.edu  

Note: Please contact one of the Liberal Arts Transfer Center Advisors if Dr. Behringer or Dr. Gulbis are not available for an appointment.