English and Reading

English courses immerse students in learning experiences that help them to grow as readers and communicators. Students taking our wide range of offerings learn to communicate persuasively in the workplace, compose college-level essays, develop rhetorical awareness, advance their reading comprehension, write creatively and learn to engage with literature from a variety of times and places. 

The department offers courses that meet requirements in Madison College’s occupational programs as well at the four-year institutions where many of our students plan to transfer. Our courses are flexible as well, offering online and short-term courses beyond the more "traditional" semester-long experience.

Courses

English Courses


Check out the full Course Catalog or follow the individual links below.

Composition

Creative Writing

Literature

Program Support

Reading Courses


Qualified students who enroll in the Madison College Honors Program have the opportunity to work one-on-one with a faculty member to research and develop an Honors Project in a particular discipline. By completing an Honors Project, you will receive general elective credits that may count toward your degree or certificate.

Faculty

Full-Time Faculty


English

Paul Barribeau
Office: 159, Watertown
Phone: (920) 206-8040 
Email: PBarribeau@madisoncollege.edu

Laurie Benda
Office: B2250, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6570 
Email: LBenda@madisoncollege.edu

Renee Cairns
Office: E3858, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-4038 
Email: RMCairns@madisoncollege.edu

Rachel Carrales
Office: E3856
Phone: (608) 243-4338
Email: RCarrales@madisoncollege.edu

Cherif A. Correa (Department Co-Chair)
Office: E3868, Truax
Phone: 608-243-4173 
Email: CCorrea@madisoncollege.edu

Sarah Cupps
Office: B3223, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6846 
Email: SCupps@madisoncollege.edu

John W. Drake
Office: C2429, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6513 
Email: JWDrake@madisoncollege.edu

Gwen Ebert
Office: D3619, Truax
Phone: (608) 828-7917
Email: GLEbert@madisoncollege.edu

John G. Galligan
Office: E3872 B
Phone: (608) 246-6580 
Email: JGalligan@madisoncollege.edu

Suzanne C. Gittleman
Office: D2649, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6522 
Email: SGittleman@madisoncollege.edu

Matthew Guenette (Department Co-Chair)
Office: B3237
Phone: (608) 246-6539 
Email: MGuenette@madisoncollege.edu

Bernardo W. Hoes
Office: E3888, Truax
Phone: (608) 243-4220
Email: BHoes@madisoncollege.edu

Sarah Z. Johnson (Department Co-Chair)
Office: E3858, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6595 
Email: SZJohnson@madisoncollege.edu

James G. Magruder
Office: D2604, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6694 
Email: JMagruder@madisoncollege.edu

John E. Opel
Office: C2429, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6617 
Email: JOpel@madisoncollege.edu

Kevin C. Piper
Office: B3223, Truax
Phone: (608) 616-3456
Email: KCPiper@madisoncollege.edu

Tara Ptasnik
Office: C3446, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6507
Email: TPTasnik@madisoncollege.edu

Anna V. Purnell
Office: E3888A, Truax
Phone: 608-333-2662 
Email: APurnell@madisoncollege.edu

Marty Richards
Office: B3223, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6623 
Email: MRichards@madisoncollege.edu

Martha Schwer
Office: D3619, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6172  
Email: Schwer@madisoncollege.edu

Joshua Stokdyk
Office: D2606
Phone: (608) 616-3503
Email: Stokdyk@madisoncollege.edu

Guy E. Thorvaldsen
Office: C3446 Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6583
Email: GThorvaldsen@madisoncollege.edu

Tim Twohill
Office: B3221, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6293 
Email: TTwohill@madisoncollege.edu

Reading

Julie Monroe
Office: B2250, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-4765
Email: JMonroe@madisoncollege.edu

Part-Time Faculty


English

Brian Ashland
Email: Ashland@madisoncollege.edu

Jaqueline Baker
Email: JVBaker@madisoncollege.edu

John Bergstrom
Email: JBergstrom@madisoncollege.edu

Nina Bricko
Email: NMBricko@madisoncollege.edu

Jimmy Cheffen Jr.
Email: JCheffenJr@madisoncollege.edu

Leesa Collett
Email: LCollett@madisoncollege.edu

Cynthia D. Carlson
Email: CDCarlson@madisoncollege.edu

Robert L. Curry, Jr.
Email: RCurryJr@madisoncollege.edu

Ekaterina Goodroad
Email: EGoodroad@madisoncollege.edu

Morgan Harlow
Email: Mharlow@madisoncollege.edu

Katie Hartman
Email: KJHartman@madisoncollege.edu

Elizabeth S. Horikawa
Email: EHorikawa@madisoncollege.edu

Marilee A. Jessup
Email: MJessup@madisoncollege.edu

Natasha Kassulke
Email: NKassulke@madisoncollege.edu

Katherine Lydon
Email: KLydon@madisoncollege.edu

Jessica Marshall
Email: jwedemeyer@madisoncollege.edu

Marie L. Martini
Email: MMartini@madisoncollege.edu

Anne McIntyre
Email: AFMcIntyre@madisoncollege.edu

Jacob Mertins
Email: JMertins1@madisoncollege.edu

Virgil Miller
Email: VRMiller@madisoncollege.edu

Michelle Moore
Email: MLMoore@madisoncollege.edu

Theresa Mouchayleh
Email: temouchayleh@madisoncollege.edu

Kristen K. Muir
Email: KKMuir@madisoncollege.edu

Kathleen M. Newport
Email: KNewport@madisoncollege.edu

Micah Nierode
Email: MNierode@madisoncollege.edu

Nadine Norland
Email: NNorland@madisoncollege.edu

Tracy Poches
Email: TPoches@madisoncollege.edu

John Pruitt
Email: JPruitt1@madisoncollege.edu

Stephanie Robey
Email: SRobey@madisoncollege.edu

Heidi Rosenberg
Email: HRosenberg@madisoncollege.edu

Aaron Schneider
Email: Ajschneider1@madisoncollege.edu

Virginia Schwarz
Email: vmschwarz@madisoncollege.edu

Jamie L. Steckelberg
Email: JSteckelberg@madisoncollege.edu

Marihelen D. Stoltz
Email: MDStoltz@madisoncollege.edu

Catherine Stover
Email: CStover1@madisoncollege.edu

Christopher Teggatz
Email: CTeggatz@madisoncollege.edu

Nicole Tilleson
Email: NJHines@madisoncollege.edu

Beth L. Torrison
Email: BTorrison@madisoncollege.edu

Arthur Upham
Email: AUpham@madisoncollege.edu

Christopher Welch
Email: CFWelch@madisoncollege.edu

William M. Yazbec
Email: WYazbec@madisoncollege.edu

Reading

Ruth A. Adams
Email: RAdams@madisoncollege.edu

Susan Eldred-Kujawa
Email: SEldredkujawa@madisoncollege.edu

Jennifer Grandone
Email: JGrandone@madisoncollege.edu

Kay Guberud
Email: kguberud@madisoncollege.edu

Kathy L. Jochman
Email: KLJochman@madisoncollege.edu

Michelle Monzo
Email: MMonzo@madisoncollege.edu

Donna Thomas
Email: DDThomas@madisoncollege.edu

Barbara Williams
Email: Bwilliams13@madisoncollege.edu