Contact

Mathematics

Karena Curtis
(608) 246-6616
Email

VALERIE MACIEJEWSKI
(608) 246-6610
Email

paul peeders
(608) 246-6477
Email



School of Arts and Sciences


Truax C2433
1701 Wright Street
Madison WI 53704

CALL: (608) 246-6246
Email

HOURS:
M
onday - Tuesday: 8 a.m. - 6 p.m. 
Wednesday - Friday: 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

 

Mathematics

Mathematics is one of the fundamental tools used to describe the world around us. Math can be applied to many different situations from computers and rockets to skyscrapers and credit cards. We also know mathematics is an important tool in research, actuarial science, medical field, financial sustainability, construction, electronics, aviation, engineering, just to name a few!

At Madison College, you have the opportunity to explore your interest in mathematics, whether it is to enhance your math skills, or create a foundation in mathematics that aligns with your personal career goals. The mathematics department offers support courses for technical program students and degree transfer mathematics courses. We are a part of the Liberal Arts Transfer Program and also have specific transfer agreements in Computer Science and Engineering. If you’re pursuing a program degree or an associate degree, we have the classes for you taught by faculty who care about your success!

Courses

Mathematics Courses


Check out the full Course Catalog or follow the individual links below.

Program Support

Qualified students who enroll in the Madison College Honors Program have the opportunity to work one-on-one with a faculty member to research and develop an Honors Project in a particular discipline. By completing an Honors Project, you will receive general elective credits that may count toward your degree or certificate.

Faculty

Full-Time Faculty


George Alexander
Office: C2429, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6187
Email: GAlexander@madisoncollege.edu 
Faculty Website

Sarah Bannen
Office: D3619, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6071
Email: SCBannen@madisoncollege.edu 
Faculty Website

Nataliya Batina
Office: D3619, Truax
Phone: (608) 616-3527
Email: NBatina@madisoncollege.edu

Steven Burns
Office: B3223, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6260
Email: SWBurns@madisoncollege.edu

Mary Bartholomew
Office: E3872, Truax
Phone: (608) 258-2433
Email: MBartholomew@madisoncollege.edu

Karena Curtis (Department Co-chair)
Office: B2240, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6616
Email: KMCurtis@madisoncollege.edu

Flynn Dustrud
Office: C3450, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6690
Email: FDustrud@madisoncollege.edu

Ian Falu
Office: C3450, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6545
Email: IFalu@madisoncollege.edu

Ramon Figueroa
Office: B2254, Truax
Phone: (608) 243-4775
Email: RFigueroa@madisoncollege.edu

John Grade
Office: D2649, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6712
Email: JDGrade@madisoncollege.edu

Jeff Havens
Office: B2254, Truax 
Phone: (608) 246-6575
Email: JHavens@madisoncollege.edu

Pamela Larson
Office: B2200, Truax  
Phone: (608) 246-6286
Email: PRLarson1@madisoncollege.edu

Jong Lee
Office: C2429, Truax  
Phone: (608) 246-6177
Email: Jlee21@madisoncollege.edu

Valerie Maciejewski (Department Co-chair)
Office: D3619, Truax 
Phone: (608) 246-6610
Email: vmaciejewski@madisoncollege.edu

Sheri Parker
Office: E3872, Truax 
Phone: (608) 246-6562
Email: SEParker@madisoncollege.edu

Paul Peeders (Department Co-chair)
Office: B2250, Truax 
Phone: (608) 246-6477
Email: PPeeders@madisoncollege.edu

Natalie Pinkovitz

Office: D2602F, Truax

Phone: (608) 246-6569

Email: NPinkovitz@madisoncollege.edu

 

Tony Przybylski
Office: B3235, Truax
Phone: (608) 259-2903
Email: TPrzybylski@madisoncollege.edu

Bethany Sansing-Helton
Office: D3619, Truax 
Phone: (608) 246-6070
Email: BPSansinghelton@madisoncollege.edu

David Sarocka 
Office: C3450, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6564
Email: DSarocka@madisoncollege.edu

Wayne Sigelko
Office: E3858, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6689
Email: WSigelko@madisoncollege.edu

Xuezheng Wu 
Office: C3450, Truax
Phone: (608) 258-2379
Email: XWu@madisoncollege.edu

Math Support

Which Math Course is right for me?

If you would like help determining the best math course sequence for you and you are a Liberal Arts Transfer student, please click on the Online Math Advising Questionnaire to answer a few questions that will help determine course recommendations for you. You will be contacted with a recommendation within one week after submitting your answers to the Questionnaire.

Technical and associate degree program students should check with their program advisor to confirm that they are enrolling in chemistry courses that will meet their program's requirements. Transfer program students can use the Transfer Information System (TIS) to determine how a specific Madison College chemistry course will transfer to any school in the University of Wisconsin System or Wisconsin Technical College System.

Student Support Services

Our Student Achievement Centers offer support for our students. You will have access to peer and instructor tutors at varying days and hours of the week!