Psychology

Psychology is the study of the mind and behavior. The discipline embraces all aspects of the human experience — from the functions of the brain to the actions of nations, from child development to care for the aged.

Psychology is one of the most popular undergraduate majors and helps prepare for careers in psychology, counseling, law, social services, education, business and many service industries. You can tell your future employer that your understanding of human behavior is essential to being successful in the workplace! Your greater understanding of relationships and the well-being of others is not only useful in your life but also makes you a better supervisor.

Courses

Psychology Courses


Check out the full Course Catalog or follow the individual links below.

Program Support

Qualified students who enroll in the Madison College Honors Program have the opportunity to work one-on-one with a faculty member to research and develop an Honors Project in a particular discipline. By completing an Honors Project, you will receive general elective credits that may count toward your degree or certificate.

Faculty

Full-Time Faculty


Justin Aoki, Ph.D.
Office: E3856, Truax
Phone: (608) 243-4279
Email: JAoki@madisoncollege.edu

Jenna Behm-Lawton, Ph.D.
Office: B2258, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-7543
Email: JBehm@madisoncollege.edu

Dawn Delaney, Ph.D. (Department Chair)
Office: B3221, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6708
Email: DDelaney@madisoncollege.edu

Maryann Dubree
Office: 170, Watertown
Phone: (920) 206-8012
Email: MDubree@madisoncollege.edu

Christopher Dyszelski, Ph.D.
Office: D2649, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6483
Email: CDyszelski@madisoncollege.edu

Eugenia Friedman
Office: E3856, Truax
Phone:  (608) 616-3525 
Email: EFriedman@madisoncollege.edu

Julia Haseleu, Ph.D.
Office: B3235, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6509
Email: JHaseleu@madisoncollege.edu

Brad McDowell, M.S.
Office: C1456, Truax
Phone: (608) 246-6579
Email: BDMcDowell@madisoncollege.edu

Steven Medall. M.A.
Office: E3856, Truax
Phone: (608) 258-2484
Email: SMedall@madisoncollege.edu

Trey (Felix) Mireles
Office: 341, West 
Phone: (608) 246-6049
Email: FMireles@madisoncollege.edu

Carola Pförtner  
Office: D3619, Truax
Phone: (608) 828-7960
Email: CPfortner@madisoncollege.edu

Part-Time Faculty


Each semester, the Psychology Department is joined by highly qualified part-time faculty. These instructors are a vital component of our college and they teach in the Madison metro area and also in Portage, Reedsburg, Fort Atkinson and Watertown. Part-time faculty are a central and much appreciated part of the Madison College Psychology Department!

Please consult the college employee directory for the email and phone of your part-time faculty.

Resources

Madison College Opportunities and Resources

Psychology Department Facebook Page
Honors Program 
Gender and Women’s Studies Certificate

Psychological Associations

American Psychological Association 
Wisconsin Psychological Association 
APS – Association for Psychological Science 
ACA          American Counseling Association 
ASCA        American School Counselor Association 
AAMFT     American Association for Marriage and Family Therapists 
NAADAC  Association for Addiction Professionals

Careers

PsycCareers APA's Online Career Center
Occupational Outlook Handbook 
O*Net Online 50 Careers in Psychology 
Careers Options with a Bachelor's Degree in Psychology 
What can I do with this degree? by Madison College